Action, Kickboxing

Proposal: KickBoxing

Experience type: Action

Duration: February 2017 – April 2017

Supervisors: Ms. Pindera

Tuesdays, 6:00-7:00pm, my home

This month, I will be undertaking a brand new challenge – kick-boxing! Given that I have not had any regular and scheduled exercise slot since the volleyball season, this will be an incredible addition to my schedule and very challenging for my fitness. I have identified this as an action CAS experience because of the physical exercise involved and the lack of creative/service output on my behalf. Each week, I will participate in a kickboxing class in my home as a means to provide for fitness to my weekly routine. This is a fantastic opportunity for me to not only develop my physical health but my character as well as it provides the following learning outcome:

Learning Outcome 1: Increased their awareness of their own strengths and areas for growth
I believe that reflection is central to action-based CAS activities as fitness and sports allow us to address goals on a more superficial and obvious level. In the case kickboxing, because I am a beginner there will be many things that I will not be able to do and I hope that in the next week I will identify those skills so that I am able to track my growth through working towards them. Similarly, I hope to identify and further develop personal strengths.

Learning Outcome 2: Undertaking new challenges
As mentioned previously, kickboxing is brand new to me. This presents it as a new and unfamiliar challenge which is significantly emphasized upon by my level of fitness currently. Through this process, I hope to be more interested in undertaking new challenges in terms of exercise and fitness because I fear that I am too focused on only volleyball which could potentially harm me when it comes to my fitness and health in university.

Learning Outcome 5: Shown perseverance and commitment in their activities 
As I mentioned previously, reflection is an integral part of this process. Given the challenges that this activity presents, it will be important to persevere as I have already dedicated myself to an hour. Perhaps with perseverance and dedication, I will find myself extending the time spent on this activity however, it is important for my mental/physical health to at least maintain the schedule which I have set aside.

Standard

Leave a Reply

